European Union sanctions against Russia

Following the recognition by the Russian government of the self-proclaimed republics of Donetsk and Luhansk on 22 February 2022 and the invasion of Ukraine that began on 24 February 2022, the European Union has imposed a series of new sanctions on the Russian Federation, in addition to the measures already in force since March 2014, imposed following the annexation of Crimea.

As of 23 February, the Union gradually adopted the new sanctions against Russia through amendments  to the 2014 regulations. The purpose of this article (available in Italian) is to summarise the measures imposed to date by the EU against the Russian Federation to facilitate a comprehension of the complex sanctions framework.

Tatiana Karabanova